Jubilee 20th Václav Votruba Prize for theoretical physics

23. 06. 2022

Jubilee 20th year of the Václav Votruba Prize for the best thesis in theoretical physics is announced by the Doppler Institute for Mathematical Physics and Applied Mathematics, co-founded by the Department of Theoretical Physics, NPI of the CAS.

The prize for the best doctoral thesis in theoretical physics, defended in the previous three school years, is awarded annually on the occasion of the anniversary of the birth of Professor V. Votruba, the founder of the modern Czech theoretical physics. It is associated with a financial reward in the form of a one-time scholarship in the amount of CZK 50,000 (before tax), which is sponsored by the FNSPE CTU in Prague.

This year's prize will be awarded on December 19, 2022, with the age of competitors not exceeding 30 years (not reached the 31st birthday at the day of application). The deadline for the competition applications is September 30, 2022, the thesis must be sent in printed copy and electronic version. More detailed information in English can be found on the Doppler Institute webpage.

Last year's competition was won by Dr. Francesco Di Filippo, with the thesis Beyond general relativity: modified theories and non-singular black holes. More information about previous years and the history of the competition can be found on the Doppler Institute webpage. The chairman of the competition committee is Prof. RNDr. Pavel Exner, DrSc. from the Department of Theoretical Physics of NPI, one of the members of the committee is another employee of this department RNDr. Jaroslav Dittrich, CSc. Other members of the committee are Prof. Ing. Miloslav Havlíček and Prof. Ing. Jiří Tolar, DrSc. from FNSPE and Ing. Pavel Středa, DrSc. from the Institute of Physics of the CAS. The Doppler Institute consists of NPI and FNSPE CTU (Departments of Mathematics and Physics) staff, and employees of University of Hradec Králové.


Poster design: Jan Augusta